UG Hiphop Awards held its second edition at the Golf Course Hotel on Thursday evening as the biggest names in Ugandan hiphop were awarded and celebrated. Speaking at the event, MTN CMO, Olivier Prentout stated that it’s great to have a big brand like MTN supporting a subculture.

As a big brand like MTN, may be we would have gone for the biggest artistes in the country. However, its great to support a youthful subculture like hiphop”, he stated.

He further promised that next year, the awards will be a much bigger affair. The awards ceremony was fairly attended bringing together fans and rappers as winners were crowned.

Below is a full list of winners

Male Artist/Rapper of the Year

  •  Pryce Teeba

Female Artist/Rapper of the Year

  •  Fasie

Rookie Of the year

  • JK Lubanto

Mixtape of the Year

  •  Not for Sale – Flex D’Paper

Central Rapper of the Year

  • Da Agent

Northern Rapper of the Year

  • Toobi Smolz

Eastern Rapper of the year

  • Leumas Owabajaja

Western Rapper of the Year

  • Amani Amaniga

Rap Fusion of the Year

  • Tumunonye – Navio

Deejay of the Year

  • Tha Dropout

 Producer of the year

  • Nase Avatar

Diaspora Rapper of the year

  • S.T.R.A.P

Album of the year

  • Something From Nothing – 92XL (Suspekt, Mal-X, Simon Elly)

Song of the year

  •  Bust a Shot – The Mith ft. Nutty Neithan

Collaboration of the year

  •  Vuqa Cypher – Keko, BigTril, Mith, Nellysade, Peter Miles, Nutty Neithan, CODE, Ruyonga

Video of the year

  • Rather You than Me – Atlas Da African

Lyricist of the year

  • Brooks – I Pray

Inspirational Song of the year

  • Power – Mal-X

Sweet 16 (Verse of the year)

  • Vuqa Cypher – TimothyCODE

Media Personality of the Year

  • Mr. Skillz (Xfm)

The only surviving civilian Afande

Leave a comment

Cancel reply