Yesterday, the HiPipo Music Awards 2018 took place at an awarding ceremony at Kampala Serena Hotel. Fallen singer, the late Mowzey Radio wins the Best Songwriter Award. Many other African artistes win accolades.

Below is a full list of the winners of the night;

Africa Song of the Year – Marry You (Diamond Platnumz feat. NeYo)
Africa Video of the Year – Love Potion (Mafikizolo)
Best Francophone Africa Act – Tere (Toofan)
Africa Best Female Artist – Tiwa Savage
Best Song from Western Africa – IF (Davido)
Best Song from Southern – Into You (Africa Roberto)

East Africa
Song of the Year – Malaika (Kenya Nyashinski)
Song of the Year Tanzania – Seduce Me (Ali Kiba)
Song of the Year Rwanda – Slowly (Meddy)
Rwanda Video of the Year – Uzagaruke (Butera Knowless)
East Africa Super Hit – Muziki (Darassa feat. Ben Pol)
East Africa Best Video – Eneka (Diamond Platnumz)
East Africa Best Breakthrough Artist – Bruce Melodie
Best East African Collabo – Binkolera (Sheebah feat. The Ben)
East Africa Best Female Artist – Vanessa Mdee

Artist Of The Year – Sheebah
Best Female Artist – Sheebah
Best Male Artist – David Lutalo
Best Duo/Group – Radio and Weasel
Best Breakthrough Artist – Fik Fameica
Best A-Cappella Group – Canaan Gents
Must Watch Talent – Nina Roz
Best DJ – Selector Jay
Album Of The Year Sheebah – Karma Queen
Video Of The Year Eddy Kenzo – Jubilation
Song Of The Year – Gutamiza (Radio & Weasel feat. B2C)
Best Audio Producer – Eno Beats

Best Video Director – Dir. Nolton (NG Filmz)
Best Video Editing and Visual Effects – Dir. Cyril Ducottet for “Missing You
Best Song Writer – Moses Radio
Best Hip-Hop/Rap Song – Kutama (Fik Fameica)
Best RnB/Soul Song – Ndi Ndi Ndi (Naava Grey)
Best Ragga Dancehall Song – Eva (Slick Stuart & Roja)
Best Reggae Song – One For The Road (Bruno K)
Best Religious Song – Mwebale Okusiiba (Swahaba Kasumba)
Best Band Song – Tugenda Komawa (Mary Bata)
Best Contemporary Folk Song – Omwana Wa Maama (Kapalaga Baibe)
Best Kadongo Kamu Song – Zirindaba (Jackie Kizito)

Best Zouk Song – Owooma (Geosteady feat. Charly & Nina)
Best Afrobeat Song – Sitani Tonkema (Roden Y Kabako feat. Sheebah & Fik Fameica)
Best Afropop Song –  – Banyabo (Rema Namakula)
Best Social Message (Inspirational ACT) – Rema in ‘Banyabo
Raising Diva Stand Out Act – Spice Diana
Best School Act – Buddo SS for ‘This Is Buddo
Best Song from Eastern Region – Tunaweza (Afande Miah feat. Roo Ya Simba)
Best Song from Northern Region – Dwoka Dwoni Piny (Pretty B)
Best Song from Southern Region – Neighbor Ebintu Byo (Navy Kayz and Trisha)
Best Song from Western Region – Nuunu (Ray G Rhiganz)

Life Time Achievement Award – Paul Saka
Video Trailblazer Award – Waka Stars for ‘Anti Kale
Decade Video Vanguard Award – Navio
Best Gospel Act – New Chapter (Bingi)
Best Global Act – Triplets Ghetto Kids for ‘Unforgettable‘, featuring French Montana and Swae Lee.

Fik Fameica at the awards.

Congratulations to all winners!

Josh Ruby is an Editor with high interest and knowledge in the Ugandan entertainment space, an industry he has been actively part of since 2010. Leads to breaking stories are welcome!

Leave a comment

Cancel reply