Praise Asiimwe Akankwasa, the 2006 Miss Uganda winner, has joined the race for the Rukungiri District Member of Parliament seat. The former Miss Uganda is up against prominent female political figures.

Following the nullification of the election of Winfred Komuhangi Matsiko as woman Member of Parliament representing Rukungiri district, six women have joined the race to the vacant parliamentary seat. Winfred Komuhangi’s (NRM) nullification took effect on March 22nd after FDC’s Betty Muzanira forwarded a case to the Court Of Appeal claiming irregularities in the 2016 elections.

Prisca Mbaguta.

Of the six women freshly contesting for the vacant position is former Miss Uganda Praise Asiimwe Akankwasa. The former beauty queen will however face stiff competition from other influential female political figures in the region including Matsiko herself who is giving it another shot at reclaiming the seat.

Other women vying for the seat include FDC’s Betty Muzanira who reported the case, Prisca Ssezi Mbaguta a former Public Service Minister, Sheila Kirebeete, and former News Anchor Kyoshaba Mutemba. The nominations will be held by the Electoral Commission from 2nd to 3rd May at the Rukungiri district headquarters.

Kyoshaba Mutemba Elizabeth.

The by-election will then take place on May 31st according to Aisha Lubega, the EC Acting Chairperson.

We wish Asiimwe the very best.

Josh Ruby is an Editor with high interest and knowledge in the Ugandan entertainment space, an industry he has been actively part of since 2010. Leads to breaking stories are welcome!

Leave a comment

Cancel reply