Arguably Uganda’s finest comedy celebrities Anne Kansiime and PatrickSalvadorIdringi  are set to return home empty-handed from South Africa’s prestigious 8th edition of the Savanna Comics Choice Awards (SavannaCCA 2018).

The two celebrated comedians were early in July nominated in the category of the Pan-African Comic of the Year alongside Bright Okpacho aka Basketmouth (Nigeria), Charles Manase (Bostwana) and Joshua Ncube (Zimbabwe) which meant that Uganda had the highest chances to walk home with the crown. 

Anne Kansiime and other nominees enjoying diner

The Savanna  Pan African Award is a new category which was introduced last year as it seeks to celebrate comedians from the different parts of Africa

But disappointingly enough, last years winner of the award Basketmouth ended up scooping the gong for the second successive time.

Basketmouth poses with Savanna Pan-African Award for a snap at the awards

This is now for the second time in row as Uganda participates in Africa’s prestigious events and the participants return home showing off nothing.

The biggest winner of the night was Carvin Goldstone, who two awards out of three nominations.

The most saddening was a few weeks back at the just concluded Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA) were Uganda had 14 nominations and failed to even get one where as our neighbors Kenya who had less than six nominations returned home in jubilations.

2018 Savanna Comic Choice Award winners

The 2018 annual Savanna Comic Choice awards were held on Saturday at the Lyric Theater in Johannesburg. This years theme was The Freedom of Funny,  which celebrates how African comedians break barriers using comedy. 

Below is the list of winners at the 2018 Savanna Comic Choice Awards.

              Comic of the year  award winner

                   Carvin GoldStone

               Pan-African comic of the award winner


              Comedy G of the year award winner

                David Kau

        Native tongue comic of the year award winner

                    Siya Seya    

         Best friend of comedy award winner

                Gino Fernandez

Game changer comic of the year winner

         Loyiso Gola

Lifetime achiever of the year award winner

            Pieter-Dirk UYS

Flying Solo award winner          

Carvin Goldstone

Next level comic of the year award winner

Phil De Lange

Comic of the year pen award winner

Kagiso Lediga

Audience Choice of the year award winner

Abuti Lolo

New comer of the year winner


Related Story : Anne Kansiime optimistic ahead of 2018 Savanna Comic Choice Awards

Leave a comment